The San Lázaro Legislative Palace

Built with the project of Mexican architect Pedro Ramírez Vázquez and named San Lázaro after the old railway station that was in the same space, it has been the official seat of the Chamber of Deputies since 1981.

The construction of the current Legislative Palace is a consequence of the political reform of 1977, which increased the number of deputies from 186 to 400, making it impossible to place them in the then former building known as “The Donceles Legislative Palace”.

This motivated the construction of a new location, as part of an urban regeneration plan for the area where the San Lázaro railway station and shunting yards were located.

It was formally inaugurated on September 1, 1981, on the occasion of the President López Portillo 5th Government Report.
The place known as “Palacio de San Lázaro”, in addition to being a monumental building with art and murals of great value in its interior, is full of history that has given way to our country.

If you are interested in learning more, access this publication "The San Lázaro Legislative Palace, headquarters of the Chamber of Deputies" where Ramírez Vázquez himself explains how the construction of this legislative area was.Available in the virtual library of the Chamber of Deputies.

Hall of Sessions

Public access galleries in the Hall of Sessions

Hall of Legislators

Plaza de los Constituyentes

Aurora Jiménez de Palacios Auditorium

The artistic heritage of the Legislative Palace of San Lázaro

The Legislative Museum

The documentary archive of the Chamber of Deputies